796). Halifax (HBOS) - HTML.Phishing.Bank-490

This email targets customers of Halifax (HBOS).

Message Details

Malware Name:HTML.Phishing.Bank-490
Origin: Italy
Date first seen:22/07/2006 17:10:25
Number seen:2
Date last seen:25/07/2006 13:00:37
From:Halifax PLC <secure@halifax.co.uk>
Subject:Important Notice

Attacker's URLs

The following table shows the details of the URLs used by the attacker. These could either be the fake website of the attack, or a site which redirects to the attackers fake site. Sometimes the attacker will use an additional site for hosting resources such as images.

The table shows the current status of the site: if it is still reachable (), or if it has been shut down (). If the site has not been confirmed as a phishing site it is shown with the symbol . The time when the site was first observed is shown, together with the time that the site was shut down, if applicable. Do not visit the attackers site as it may contain malware. You can get more details on the site by clicking on the symbol.

StatusFirst observedShut DownInternet AddressURL
22/07/2006 17:16:08 23/07/2006 09:22:04 United States 69.49.101.19 http://dis39.com/New%20Folder/e/httpswww.halifax-online.co.uk_mem_binFormsLogin.aspsource=halifaxcouk/   

Message Text

The text below shows the message content, rendered in a safe way. It does not show images or HTML formatting, but the text is the same as that contained in the phishing email. Each clickable link is shown as a reference. You can see the way the URL is presented in the main body of the text, while the actual URL activated by the link is shown below the main body.

Message Display
Enlarge
How the message body looks in an email client.

   Online Logo

                                                             Important : 

   April 15,2006
   
   Attn: Customer,
   Halifax Bank PLC. always look forward for the high security of our clients.
   Some customers have been receiving an email claiming to be from Halifax
   advising them to follow a link to what appear to be a Halifax web site,
   where they are prompted to enter their personal Online Banking details.
   Halifax is in no way involved with this email and the web site does not
   belong to us.

   Halifax is proud to announce about their new updated secure system. We
   updated our new SSL servers to give our customers a better, fast and secure
   online banking service.
   Due to the recent update of the servers, you are requested to please update
   your account info at the following link.

   [1]https://www.halifax-online.co.uk/_mem_bin/formslogin.asp

   *Important*
   We have asked few additional information which is going to be the part of
   secure login process. These additional information will be asked during your
   future login security so, please provide all these info completely and
   correctly  otherwise due to security reasons we may have to close your
   account temporarily.
   
   J. P. Donells
   Security Advisor
   Halifax Bank PLC.

References

   1. http://dis39.com/New%20Folder/e/httpswww.halifax-online.co.uk_mem_binFormsLogin.aspsource=halifaxcouk/

Additional Examples